Update From Write Van Winkle

Most people are at least familiar with the story of Rip Van Winkle, the man who fell asleep for twenty years. Can you just imagine what it would be like to wake up and find that so much time has passed? What have I missed? How much has changed since I’ve last been in the world?

 

Well, I’m feeling a bit like old Rip myself these days, except that I haven’t been sleeping; I’ve been writing. I’m currently hard at work on An Uneasy Inheritance, the fourth book in the Kyrie Carter: Supernatural Sleuth series. At the moment, I’m writing chapter 11, and I’ve got about 120 pages. While that’s all good, I realized that I haven’t blogged at all in over a month.

So, here’s a little glimpse at what I’ve been working on.

A lot is happening to Kyr in this book, and she’s really going to find out what she’s made of as the story progresses. In the first few chapters, she has lost her job, lost the house she was renting due to the death of her landlady, and found out that she’s the sole beneficiary of her great-aunt’s estate–a relative she didn’t even know existed. I’m at the point right now where she’s in Renovo, PA meeting with Jamison Hufnagle, the (young, very handsome) attorney handling the estate. Spook decides to show up unannounced to “lend his assistance,” much to Kyr’s chagrin, and some sparks fly between Spook and Jamison.

renovosnow

The three make the trek, in a snowstorm, to the house Kyr now owns. Kyr’s ultimate plan is to fix up the house and list it for sale, but the moment she sets foot inside, something calls to her and sets the idea in her head to keep the house.

kyrhouse

That’s about as far as I’ve gotten, but here’s a teaser for things to come:

A spooky neighbor who seems to appear out of nowhere to give Kyr advice.

A hermit living on the mountain who seems to know Kyr and tells her to stay away.

A dire warning from both the neighbor and the hermit not to go into the woods at night.

Clues hidden in strange places throughout the house that suggest a treasure somewhere on the property.

Someone trying to get rid of Kyr and find the treasure.

And of course…

Ghosts, ghosts, ghosts!

IMG_20161104_171840400.jpg

Stay tuned for more news and excerpts from An Uneasy Inheritance!

Leave a Reply

