I’m a Human, Not an Octopus

What does “Back-to-School Time” mean to you?

Apparently to me, it’s the time of year where I begin feeling overwhelmed and ineffective in almost all aspects of my life.

You see, I’m one of “those” people. What kind of people, you may ask? Well, I’m one of those moms who is involved in her kids’ lives and activities. I hope I’m not a helicopter parent, because it seems everyone looks askance at them. But I am involved.

I’m a Den Leader. I help out in several capacities in the children’s ministries at church. I shuttle my son to violin lessons and cross country practices. I help out at school for parties and field trips when I can.

And I volunteer for Bible Released Time. I actually wear a number of hats in that ministry. School Coordinator. Song Leader. Van Driver.

And these are just the things I do involving my kids. I’m a homemaker, a wife, a mom (yes, there is a difference between being “Mom” and being a ringleader for my kids’ activities, lol), and a recently-published author.

So, needless to say, I’m tired. I have so much on my plate that some days I don’t know which thing to stick my fork in first. It’s kind of like Thanksgiving dinner at Grandma’s when I was a kid–someone would hand me a big plate of delicious food, and it all looked so good, but I sat staring for a long time because I didn’t know what to eat first.

Okay, sorry. I obviously should have eaten breakfast before starting this post.

But therein is another problem–my lack of focus. I could be the poster child for Adult ADD. I am not focused. I am not organized. And when you’re in charge of or helping out with as many things as I am, you’ve got to be focused and organized, or else you throw yourself and everyone around you into chaos.

And that’s what is happening now. I’m beginning to see cracks in some of the things I’m involved with. I’m sure it’s not all me and my lack of leadership skills, but I can’t deny that I’m part of the problem. I feel like the little boy with his finger in the hole in the dyke, trying to stop the flood and the destruction. (For Pete’s sake, I’m just all over the place with illustrations).

To get back to the title of this post, it all comes down to realizing that I am one person. I only have so many hours in the day, and I only have two hands, not eight like an octopus. I have limitations that I need to acknowledge, and I need to seriously take stock of where I am and what’s important. I hate saying that, because I think all the things I’m involved with are important, obviously, or else I wouldn’t be involved with them.

But I also realize that there are other things that I’d like to do–things that may lead to employment in the near future when both kids are in middle and high school, things involving ministries that I’d like to start or move into–that I really have no room for right now. I need to decide what activities to keep my hands in and what activities to pull back from.

And that’s not easy.

Struggle

One thought on “I’m a Human, Not an Octopus

  1. Oh, I feel your pain. Been there. Done that. My dad told me once that it’s easy to say “no” to bad things – like stealing peaches from the store or peeing on your neighbors tulips, but it gets a little tougher when all around you there are great choices for ministry! Which do you choose? The answer lies somewhere in the question = Which brings you the most joy?

    When my kids were in grade school I was very much involved – always somewhere in the school (to keep an eye on ’em!) either working as a substitute aid, or just volunteering. Now, I don’t feel that pull so much anymore.

    Good luck! ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

