Another Puzzling Dream

100_4313

 

Just before I woke up this morning, I had another puzzling dream. I can only remember pieces of it, but it felt significant to some of the things that have been going through my head lately.

The first part of the dream had something to do with a church—not my church, but it seemed to represent my church, if that makes sense—having some kind of health check, not just for church members, but for anyone who was interested in coming. There were a lot of people there. During this part of the dream, I was scrambling around trying to get myself and my kids ready for this healther check.

The next part of the dream was inside this church. It was really bright inside, almost too bright. All the walls were white, and the pews were a really bright, light-colored wood, unlike the darker-wood pews I’m so used to seeing. I was sitting with a group of women, waiting for Communion or something. We were told to pray out loud whatever came to our minds. I was really uncomfortable with that, so I just sat there repeating the things the others were saying. All of a sudden, I realized that what they were praying was along the lines of “thank you that our church does this,” “thank you that our church has that,” and the like. I didn’t feel right about that, so I stopped praying.

Then I found a worship book, kind of like a Book of Common Prayer, in the rack in front of me. I picked up that book to find prayers to pray, and I immediately felt more comfortable. However, when I tried to open the book, I discovered that someone had pasted it shut with chewing gum.

Unfortunately, that’s when my body decided to wake up, so I don’t know what would have happened next. I’m sure I’ll be puzzling over this dream later today and in the days to come.

Oddly enough, when I opened WordPress this morning, this post about Dreams was at the top of my Reader list.

Leave a Reply

