Revisiting Who I Am

This post is actually the first assignment for a Blogging course I signed up for; this assignment involves introducing ourselves and telling a bit about our blog. For those of you who have been with me for awhile, please bear with me. For those who are taking the blogging course with me, welcome. I post a little of everything–my writing process, news about my books, my thoughts on newsworthy (or not-so-newsworthy) current events, or just whatever I need to get out of my head.

Who Am I?

For the purposes of this blog, I go by Leta Hawk, which is my pen name. Since today is the anniversary of my mother’s passing (nine years ago today), I really feel a pull to share the story of my pen name. My mother’s name was Aleta. The name Aleta means “birdlike,” and if you would have met my mother, you’d probably think her name was appropriate, as she was quite the petite woman. There’s an old song by the title “Five-Foot-Two, Eyes of Blue.” That was my mom, short in stature, and extremely thin. She was also very much a mother hen, always hovering over her brood, sometimes to the point of being smothering.

scan0063 (2) scan0030

Anyway, I digress. When I was trying to come up with a pen name, I played around a lot with online name generators–those things are SO addictive! One of the names that popped up as a first name was Leta. At first, I dismissed it, but then I realized that name could actually be short for Aleta. Oh, how perfect! A family name, and one that held special significance for me. When I was a child, one of my mom’s friends ALWAYS commented how much I resembled my mom, and she called me “Little ‘Leta.” So it seems I was destined to have that name.

Finding a last name wasn’t quite as difficult, as I decided to choose something from my father’s side of the family tree. I chose Hawk, my great-grandmother’s maiden name. Sadly, I know nothing of Annie Hawk-Reisch, but her name struck a chord with me. Ha, and I just now realized that both Leta/Aleta and Hawk are bird-related, so it seems I have a theme going here.

My Blog

As I stated above, this blog is a bit of a mish-mash of topics, whatever strikes my fancy on a given posting day. This is not my first blog; I’ve had other blogs on other sites. Those blogs were pretty much what this one is, random posts about random topics. When I first started this one, I intended it to be more focused on my books, my writing process, my publication journey, etc. To be honest, I quickly got bored with such a limited subject area. I feel like there’s only so much I can share about that without boring those who really aren’t interested in writing.

My goal is to become better at blogging, to post about topics that reflect who I am but are still interesting to my readers. As a fairly-recently published author, I want to use my blog to build my author brand, to let my readers know who I am and what I write, to just connect with them and be open.

One thought on “Revisiting Who I Am

Leave a Reply

