My Top 12 Songs of Christmas

Songs-of-Christmas-banner-1024x676

 

Okay, so I’ve been listening to Sirius XM’s Holly channel all month. One of the things they’re doing this holiday season is having guest DJs come in and share their 12 favorite Christmas songs. I love Christmas music (as long as it DOESN’T start the day after Halloween), and I thought, why not make my own Top 12 list? So without further ado, here it is!

 

Marshmallow World – Darlene Love

This is just a fun winter song that I’ve loved since I first heard it in college. I love the imagery and the hint of romance, and it’s just fun to sing along to.

 

O Holy Night – Josh Groban

This song by just about anyone gives me chills, but Josh Groban’s voice truly does this beautiful song justice.

 

Christmas Can-Can – Straight No Chaser

So much truth in this song! It’s funny and clever and just a little bit different from the other songs on the list. It’s not truly the Christmas season till I hear this one.

 

Mary Did You Know? – Pentatonix

I was on the fence about this one until I heard Pentatonix do it, and now I’m in love with it. Having grown up in church, observing Advent and meditating on the reason for the season, this song really speaks to my spiritual side.

 

It Came Upon the Midnight Clear – Anne Murray

Another song with beautiful images. I’ve always wished I were skillful enough to draw what I see in my head as I listen to this song.

 

Santa Baby – Madonna

When I first heard this song, I thought it was kind of stupid, but it grew on me. Now I simply appreciate its cheekiness, especially the way Madonna sings it. It makes me want to don a cute little Santa dress, put on red lipstick, and lip-sync along. Okay, sorry, no one really needed THAT image in their head…

 

This Holiday Night – Margo Rey

It took me awhile to get into this song; in fact, I don’t think I really listened to the whole thing until almost New Year’s last year. I just couldn’t get past the image of snowflakes like “dandelion fur.” But now I love the images in the song and the feeling it gives me.

 

Mary’s Boy Child – Boney M

This song is the Christmas message wrapped up in a fun, danceable rhythm. I like all the different voices singing together and separately.

 

It’s Beginning to Look a Lot Like Christmas – Perry Como

Of all the versions of this song that are out there, this one is my favorite. I like Perry Como’s voice, and with the Andrews Sisters in the background, it’s just a lot of fun to listen to. I suppose my favorite part—the one I get in my kids’ faces and sing loudly—is during the second run-through when they sing, “And Mom and Dad can hardly wait for school to start again—ahh-hh ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha haaaa!”

 

Donde Esta Santa Claus? – Augie Rios

I first heard this song as a young child, and I loved it because of the child singing in a foreign language. Of course, it’s funny now to recall that I had my cultural wires crossed for so long. While the child is singing in Spanish, I was visualized him singing to a Japanese mother. My dad had been stationed in Japan before I was born, so our house was full of Japanese dolls, and in my mind, anyone who wasn’t American probably looked like those fancily-dressed dolls that my mom had sitting around.

 

All I Want for Christmas Is You – Vince Vance & the Valiants

The first time I heard this song, I was pregnant with my first baby. I was still two months away from having him, but it had been a rough pregnancy, and I was still fretting over giving birth and hoping it would all be okay. When I heard the line, “You are the angel atop my tree/You are my dream come true/Santa can’t bring me what I need/Cause all I want for Christmas is you,” I sat in the car cradling my enormous belly and crying my eyes out.

 

O Come O Come Emmanuel/Veni Veni Emmannuel

I know this is more an Advent song than a Christmas song, but it fits within the season. This is another song that speaks to my spiritual side and brings to mind the true meaning of Christmas. As for the Latin version, as a lover of languages, I was fascinated with hearing an old song in an ancient language. I still want to learn at least the first verse in Latin, just because.

 

So, those are my Top 12 Songs of Christmas. What are your favorite Christmas songs?

One thought on “My Top 12 Songs of Christmas

Leave a Reply

