Author Interview: Jennifer Felton

  1. Who is Jennifer Felton? Tell us a bit about yourself.

I grew up in the country, now I love in the city. I’ve been in a relationship for almost seven years now, and last Christmas Eve, he finally popped the question.

With three kids and a dog, life is hectic. Sometimes it’s hard to find the time (quiet time where I can actually hear myself think) to write, but I do the best I can. Occasionally, the writing bug comes and the house gets ignored. Small price to pay, right?

I’ve always loved to write, so it’s beyond words, how it feels to be a published author. Then again, it’s terrifying because there are very few people who have seen anything I have written, prior to being published. Despite the fear I’m sure most newbie authors face, this is it. This is what I have to do, what I’ve always wanted to do. I have no choice but to make it work- especially since the characters like to badger me until I tell their stories!

  1. What made you write “Through Life & Death” and “Through Love & Hate?” This is a series I started working on a few years ago. Initially, it was supposed to be a trilogy. Through Life and Death started out as a character development exercise for my character of Sebastian! Eventually, it just took on a life of its own and the characters bullied me into making it a full-blown story!

    3. They say that life imitates art, but in my own experience, I’ve found that art often imitates life. Was there any aspect of your life that found its way into your novels?


While it’s safe to say that the events of the book are purely fictional, Through Love and Death is very special to me.

This was written to deal with the pain I was feeling when I found out a loved one was diagnosed with stage 4 breast cancer. Suddenly, one of the most kind and generous women I know, went from vibrant and healthy to being diagnosed with a terminal illness. It was like a punch to the gut.

In this book, a lot of what Anya goes through is based off parts of her journey, in some shape or form. Here, we have Megan willing to do anything, include sell her soul, in order for her best friend to live.

4. What has being a writer taught you about writing? About yourself? About life?

Anything is possible, and mistakes will always be made. LOL.

  1. And just for fun, what was your favorite plaything as a child? Do you still have it?

Honestly, notebooks and pens! *chuckles* I always preferred to be by myself in my room, and just write or draw. I wish I still had things I wrote from when I was young, but I think the earliest writings I still have are from my teenage years.

2 thoughts on “Author Interview: Jennifer Felton

Leave a Reply

