Blog Hopping

Thank you for being a part of my Fabulous 5 blog hop! As promised, here are the questions you get to answer.

  • What am I working on?

I’ve got quite a few irons in the fire at the moment. One thing I’m trying to finish up before NaNoWriMo begins November 1st is School Spirits, the second book in my Kyrie Carter Paranormal Adventures series. In this novel, Kyrie and her friend JoEllyn return to their alma mater, Willow Lake College, to join the campus Paranormal Club and Petery Paranormal for an investigation of some of the campus ghost stories. Things get a bit out of hand when they uncover a long-held secret surrounding one of the hauntings. In another twist, Spook Steele, Kyr’s handsome nemesis from The Newbie, shows up with the Petery Paranormal group, so sparks fly between him and Kyr once more. They do become friends and a little bit more by the end of this book. You’ll have to wait and see how that happens.

I’ve also got the third book in the series, Mystery of the Willow Lake Witch, under way. Basically, this is a continuation of School Spirits and it gets in to unresolved questions from their initial investigation.

My NaNoWriMo story for this year goes off my usual paranormal track and ventures into YA fantasy/romance. It’s called The Knight and the Not-Quite Lady, and it began as fan fiction of the Merlin TV show. My main character, Wynifred (Wynne) deWyck, is a young lady in training in Camelot. She’s a tomboy who has no interest in learning the finer points of being a proper lady, and she gets herself into many scrapes and awkward situations. She meets and falls hard for Sir Gawaine (my personal favorite of the Knights of the Round Table). She struggles between being who she is and trying to become the proper lady she thinks Sir Gawaine will notice and fall in love with.

  • How does my work differ from others in the genre?

What I hope comes out in my paranormal stories is that I’m somewhat of a seeker—not a seeker in the sense that I seek out ghostly experiences, but a seeker in the sense that I try to understand the experiences I’ve had throughout my childhood and young adult years. In my real life, I struggle not only with whether the things I’ve seen and felt were actually paranormal, but also with how those experiences fit in with my personal beliefs and with the beliefs of my church. My writing is very much a form of counseling for me, as I like to work things out on my own.

Why do I write what I do?

I tend to write the stories I’d like to read. I have a life-long fascination with ghosts and Victorian houses, both of which seem to show up quite regularly in my work. I love stories where the ghosts are less than friendly and where the protagonist has to solve a mystery or get herself out of a paranormal problem, but I don’t like when the stories get into the horror genre.

As for the fantasy stories, those, too, are rooted in my younger years. When I was in 3rd grade, my older brother returned from college one Christmas with a cassette tape of Rick Wakeman’s The Myths and Legends of King Arthur and the Knights of the Round Table. I fell in love with those legends and the idea of knights and ladies and wizards and all that fun stuff. Up through my college years and beyond, I read everything I could find that related to King Arthur or knights in general, and I always said I’d write my own one day.

  • How does my writing process work?

My writing process is quite a garbled mess. I don’t outlines, I don’t do elaborate character sketches, and I don’t do structured research. Half the time I don’t even know what’s going to happen in the next chapter; I’m just along for the ride. What I do have are notebooks full of scenes; scraps of dialogue or character descriptions written on old envelopes, receipts, or junk mail; hastily-scrawled drawings of houses, gardens, or characters. I’m notorious for losing something I’ve jotted down, as well as for writing up to ten or so chapters of a book and then abandoning it. Yes, a very messy process.

  • Who’s next on the blog hop?

My friend and fellow NaNo buddy, Raven Blackburn: http://ravenblackburn.blogspot.de

Another friend and fellow NaNo buddy, Vikki Hanson: http://vikkihanson.wordpress.com

Yes, another friend and fellow NaNo buddy: http://selacarsen.com

Author of Grave Beginnings, the first novel in The Grave Report, R. R. Virdi: http://rrvirdi.blogspot.com

Author of After Oil, Leah K. Cannon-Nixon: www.kristancannon.blogspot.ca

Post the names of five more writers (fiction/non-fiction any genre welcome!) with the links to their blogs. Also, please post the link to my blog with a note that I was the one who tagged you (so readers can blog hop forwards and backwards!)

I was tagged by http://casiaschreyer.wordpress.com

You’re all scheduled for the 6th of October, and the people you tag get scheduled for one week later. You’re allowed to move the date to fit your regularly scheduled posting rituals. Thanks again!!

Deb/Leta

Leave a Reply

