What Are You Reading This Week?

The past couple weeks have been crazy-busy with all the kid-related activities, so I haven’t had much time either for reading or for writing. Of course, that doesn’t stop me from browsing the Kindle book sites and downloading more titles to my Kindle (last count for me was 618). Last night, I decided to pick a title and start reading.

The book I began reading last night is called Star Trails Navajo: A Different Way to Look at the Night Sky, by Don Childrey. As the title suggests, the book tells the legends surrounding common constellations, but from a Navajo perspective. I’m not very far into the book yet, but so far it’s interesting. Childrey began by relating some of his experiences as a Scout, camping in remote places away from city lights; this is where his fascination with the night sky began. He then gives a bit of background about the typical Greek and Roman star stories that many of us have heard bits and pieces of in our literature classes. I’m just now getting into the part where he begins telling the Navajo stories.

Like Childrey, I also have a fascination with the night sky, and I could spend hours outside just gazing at the stars and the moon. Constellation lore intrigues me as well, and I’ve got a future novella/novel based on my favorite constellation lurking in my brain, waiting for the right time to be written. I’m really looking forward to the rest of this book, to see if “my” constellation makes an appearance and to compare the Navajo legend with the legend I’m familiar with.

So what are you reading this week? Leave a comment below and let me know.

Leave a Reply

